Leaders in privacy, compliance & information governance solutions

Welcome. Log in or create an account for AccessPrivacy.com

Anti-spam Legislation FAQs Updated by CRTC

May 8, 2014

The Canadian Radio-Television and Telecommunications Commission (CRTC) has revised and supplemented its published Frequently Asked Questions on Canada's anti-spam legislation (CASL). Among other things, the FAQs address the transitional provision under CASL, the definition of commercial electronic message, and obtaining express consent.  

We will be discussing this new release on our next Monthly Privacy Call which will take place on May 28, 2014 at 11:30am EDT.  Please visit out events page to sign up for the May monthly privacy call and for more information on all upcoming events. 
Please also note that our 2014 Annual Privacy Conference will be held on Wednesday, June 25th at our Osler, Hoskin & Harcourt Offices in Toronto.  Space is limited so Register Now!


We hope you can join us for this unparalleled opportunity to interact with privacy regulators, leading Chief Privacy Officers, and privacy experts. We have a great day planned.


As always, we will be offering this full-day conference for $495 but there is no charge for CPO Package subscribers.  CPO Package subscribers, please contact us by email at info@accessprivacy.com and we will register you for the conference.


Conference topics include:  

  • Emerging trends and challenges in the global privacy arena;
  • Compliance challenges and risk mitigation strategies for Canada's Anti-Spam Legislation (CASL);
  • Global cyber-security developments;
  • Exploring privacy class actions;
  • Data considerations in the payment ecosystem;
  • Our annual Canadian privacy year in review; and, of course,
  • Our popular Canadian privacy regulatory authority panel.  

More agenda details will be coming soon. 


*Please Note:  Free to CPO Package subscribers

Some of our confirmed speakers include:

  • Martin Abrams  Director, The Information and Accountability Foundation
  • Chantal Bernier  Interim Commissioner, Office of the Privacy Commissioner of Canada
  • Jill Clayton  Commissioner, Information and Privacy Commissioner of Alberta
  • Jean Chartier  Président, Commission d'acces a l'information du Québec
  • Jonathan Fox  Director of Privacy, McAfee, Inc.
  • Salim Jivraj  Vice President, Digital Channels, TD Bank Group
  • Michael McEvoy  Deputy Commissioner, Office of the Information and Privacy Commissioner of British Columbia

CRTC Share This